IN NEED OF DIRECTION

General discussion board about VAMs, but no buy/sell offers
VAM-PIRE

IN NEED OF DIRECTION

Post by VAM-PIRE » Fri Apr 19, 2019 7:32 am

Hello World, I've been collecting coins, mostly Morgans, for about 50 years. How far my collection has come, from a coffee can full of coins looking like they went thru the meat grinder, to a full date/mm set of business strike Morgans slabbed and vammed. I've even acquired a few proof Morgans. I first got into VAM's about 5 years ago, and immediately enlisted the help of several publications. The ones I find myself going to the most for info and pricing are Red Book, VAMVIEW (2015), WOW Book, Ebay sold items, and of course the wealth of information contained in the pages of VamWorld. I've gotten 90% of my Morgan knowledge in the last 5 years. So what is my point, I can hear you all saying? From what I can see, prices have taken a dive over the past 5 years. Is it the economy, or just my imagination. If you want a rude awakening, compare some current Ebay sales prices to the 5 yo estimates in VAMVIEW, whose estimates can be 2-3 X more than current prices of similar examples. What say you????

HawkeEye

Re: IN NEED OF DIRECTION

Post by HawkeEye » Fri Apr 19, 2019 10:15 am

I have seen this concern from a lot of longer term collectors and it appears that your concerns are real for most common coins in the short term. The best I can tell is that the very top end has held up well but not so good below that.

I think it is several things. As the economy has improved investing in the stock market has just about sucked the air out of everything else, so demand for collectibles has eased off. Then there is an age issue and this one is what concerns me. I don't think we are attracting enough new collectors because today we are competing with electronics and a host of things with the young crowd.